If A Picture Is Truly Worth 1000 Words…

April 29, 2009 at 4:42 pm 6 comments


I better rock out mine like nobody’s business!  Haha!

It seems that while planning my wedding, everyone has their own little pearls of wisdom to share, and my beautiful cousin, Carla, provided me some of the most precious pearls to date.  She said, “Mary, while you can scrimp / cut back / trim down on many areas to keep your wedding budget from tipping the scales, there are two areas you should never… and I mean NEVER “settle” on.  One is your entertainment at the reception.  Two – and perhaps more importantly – is your wedding photographer!”

After thinking about it for a moment, I realized how right she was.  A photographer not only will provide you with some of the best, most everlasting keepsakes from your wedding day, but they will also set the tone for many key events – from your first professional shoot at the engagement to the post reception send off.  So, it was extremely important for me to find a photographer that not only did amazing work, but who also meshed nicely with the Mister and me.

Truth be told, my cousin Carla’s wedding pictures were BEAUTIFUL, but she was miserable.  Her wedding photographer acted more like a Mussolini incarnate, dictating the bridal party with loud orders rather than a professional picture taker.  She said she felt as if she was back in grade school – afraid to even whisper – in fear that she would lose a gold star.  Haha!

I lucked out and found a girl who not only captures the simplest of moments beautifully, but who has the personality that will be able to rally the troops instead of instilling fear in them.  Her name is Jessika Feltz, and she has been nothing but wonderful.  This weekend we have our engagement session, and she has been gracious enough to drive to where it all began… back to IU in Bloomington!  I’m oh-so-excited, and I’ll be sure to post the pics!  Wish me luck!

Entry filed under: All About Me, Keeping it Personal, Wedding Planning 101. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Wedding Coupon Mania! We Interupt Your Wedding Planning Program To Bring You The Latest “Speidi” News. Awesome.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amber  |  May 11, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    I’m so happy to hear this! I’ve actually just hired Jessika to do our wedding and engagement photos and I am so excited! She has been wonderful to work with so far and her pictures are amazing! I completely agree with the “not compromising on a photographer” thing. I know that I am going to be so stressed out and that my wedding day is going to go so fast and I want to have good pictures to have to look back on. And of course, ones that I will be proud to show off! Best of luck with all your wedding planning!

    Reply
    • 2. Mary Kidwell  |  May 12, 2009 at 8:41 am

      Thanks, Amber! Jessika is increds! I love love love her modern photography style. It really is super artsy… making me wish I had more moolah to spend! Because I could easily fill our home with Jessika canvas wraps starring yours truly! Haha! Good luck with all your wedding and if you have any questions (or words of wisdom) feel free to pop on in again! I always delight in visitors :)

      Reply
  • 3. JayP  |  April 30, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    You are very lucky with this photographer. If I were to get a photographer that was all “JUMP” and expected a “how high?”… I think I’d have to end that sentence with ‘how high’… do I actually have to be to recommend you to my friends or ever use you again? It’s should be a happy day for pictures, not a nightmare. Glad to hear your pics will be actual smiles rather than forced smiles hid behind disgust and anger and most importantly…FEAR!

    Reply
  • 4. Jessika Denney Feltz  |  April 30, 2009 at 2:54 am

    I love you MAAAARRYY, oh yes it’s true! I love you MAAARRRYY, oh yes I do!!

    Reply
    • 5. marilynskeepsakes  |  April 30, 2009 at 12:11 pm

      It’s because we’re both so awesome! Thanks again for sharing in my most special day :)

      Reply
      • 6. Jessika Denney Feltz  |  April 30, 2009 at 6:14 pm

        I’m more than honored, believe me. Can’t wait to see you again this weekend! I am bringing your twin, my assistant Melinda. She’s just as crazy as you. BTW, Jimmy got a haircut for you so he’d look nice. Hahaha!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click Here 2 SAVE!

Our Pick 4 2010’s Trendiest

As Seen in Brides!

Also, featured in InStyle!

Request a FREE Catalog!

Win a $200 Shopping Spree!

MK At A Glance

April 2009
M T W T F S S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

All A*Twitter*

Share This Blog!

Bookmark and Share

Archives


