Wedding Planners: Are They A Dying Breed?

May 15, 2009 at 4:16 pm 11 comments


With all the details and dotted lines surrounding a wedding day, it’s easy to see why wedding planners have been used over the years.  With everything going on inside a bride’s head, does she really have time to make sure her future mother-in-law is equipped with the correctly colored tussy mussy?  Or is it simply an unnecessary fussy?

Of course while some wedding planners have proven to be their bride’s greatest ally, it seems as though they could be be next in line for the endangered species list.  At least from my experience, of all the weddings I’ve been to and brides I’ve know, I can only think of a handful that required their services.  Nowadays, couples – armed with instant online intelligence and overly helpful friends and family members – can empower themselves with greater ease.  They can “Google” and file share it.  They can order and overnight it.  They can even question and understand it… all with the click of a button and without leaving the comfort of their own home.

Don’t get me wrong; I loved J. Lo just as much as the next guy when she kicked bridal booty in The Wedding Planner, but does that mean I’d hire her to do work I’m capable of accomplishing myself for a super-sized fee?  Eh, probably not. Like most brides, I have a limited budget and hideous economy to work with, and I’m more than happy to give up the help of a woman (or man) for a the love of killer pair of vintage stilettos and several, extra guests. 

But I’m curious to see how many people used / are using / will use a wedding planner AND how many enjoyed or are enjoying their experience?

Entry filed under: Wedding Planning 101. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Are You Bride With “Sole” Power?: Bringing Colored Bridal Shoes To The Forefront Of Wedding Fashion Tackling A Bride’s Arch Nemesis: Her Bathroom Scale

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ms.Stephens~2~BE  |  May 23, 2009 at 2:36 am

    so i have a ?

    Reply
    • 2. Mary Kidwell  |  May 26, 2009 at 8:25 am

      So, I hopefully have an answer :)

      Reply
  • 3. Mary Kidwell  |  May 22, 2009 at 8:30 am

    Thanks for the comments, ladies! But please know that I never once doubted how much work a wedding planner could put in; nor do I think for one second that they wouldn’t be useful… hence, the line “some wedding planners have proven to be their bride’s greatest ally.” I was merely giving an observation I’d seen surrounding most of the weddings I attended. I’ve been to over 30 weddings within the last four years alone, and I’d say only 3 or 4 used planners. Most just inquired help from friends and family and researched independently. This made me wonder if wedding planners were among the “cut backs” brides were making to help save money. Nothing more. Nothing less. I wish you all the best and happy planning!

    Reply
  • 4. Veronica  |  May 22, 2009 at 7:18 am

    Wedding planners are and do much more than you describe here, maybe you should speak to a professional one and get an idea on how one can help you navigate the economy. Just becuase you can google a vendor doesn’t mean that vendor can do what you are asking where as a professional can referr you to someone in your budget that can do what you need them to do. Visit http://www.bridalassn.com for information on how to be and to hire a professional wedding consultant.

    Reply
  • 5. Pam DuVal  |  May 22, 2009 at 6:56 am

    Wedding planners do not take over, unless the bride needs us too. We are your greatest asset & best friend. We can be a shoulder no one else knows about or a determined crowd controller. Most of the time, my services are for the day of, advice, and vendor recommendations, esp with destination weddings. A lot of brides like to either plan or partial plan themselves, and that’s fine. I feel it is important to have professional people and not have have a ton of well meaning volunteers for the most important day of your life.

    Reply
  • 6. pddunc  |  May 18, 2009 at 8:19 am

    If you have the budget for a wedding planner, then why not unload some of the pressure and responsibility. Why the internet makes it easier to plan your own, it doesn’t help much the day of when something goes wrong….and something always goes wrong. Don’t put the wedding planners out of business….some day I’m going to make a fierce one ;)

    Reply
    • 7. Mary Kidwell  |  May 18, 2009 at 12:11 pm

      Yes! Well, if you’re F.I.E.R.C.E., then you have nothing to worry about. Just ask Tyra, haha!

      Reply
  • 8. Boris  |  May 15, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    I think Mary might just be the most beautiful woman ever created…

    Reply
    • 9. Mary Kidwell  |  May 18, 2009 at 12:10 pm

      Haha! He’s partial. Even under a code name, I still know that my mister :)

      Reply
  • 10. Twitted by WeddingXpert  |  May 15, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    […] This post was Twitted by WeddingXpert – Real-url.org […]

    Reply
  • 11. LindseyK  |  May 15, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    I was a typical DIY bride, but looking back, I can see some major perks in hiring a wedding planner. I thought that a planner would have all the fun designing and shopping, which I wanted to do, but I really could have used someone with a little more know-how than what I had on my own. There were a lot of things that I overlooked and that could have been planned better. Even after designating some friends and family to be in charge of different things – and listening to 30 different people tell me the “proper” way to do things- in the end it would have been better to have had one, very knowlegable, very compliant and very take-charge person overlooking everything to keep everyone on the same page.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click Here 2 SAVE!

Our Pick 4 2010’s Trendiest

As Seen in Brides!

Also, featured in InStyle!

Request a FREE Catalog!

Win a $200 Shopping Spree!

MK At A Glance

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

All A*Twitter*

Share This Blog!

Bookmark and Share

Archives


