Tackling A Bride’s Arch Nemesis: Her Bathroom Scale

May 18, 2009 at 3:21 pm 5 comments


Dieting*Welp, there they are.  Just like they always are… watching, judging, taunting… an ever present reminder of what once was and what may never be again.  Thank YOU, oh torturous villain, for cursing my day.  I should just get rid of you.  Throw you out, along with all the low, self loathing esteem you inflict on my daily existence.  Instead, I keep you close, as well as the little bit of false hope… that maybe… just maybe … I may fit into you again.

*That’s right.  I’m talking to you, constant mocking reminder, too-small-for-me, favorite pair of jeans… and today, it appears, you win… again.*

Yep, (fill in your name here), who hasn’t been there?  If you’re anything like me, you’ve been endowed with many, wonderful things in your life.  But of all the wonderful things you have, you seem to be missing any sort of metabolic capabilities or even a small sliver of Giselle Bundchen DNA.  And because these two things are missing, they can make everything else seem a little bit more lackluster.

EVERY day (every, single, forsaken day), I have to work at my weight.  Heck, I’ve been dieting (in some way, shape or form) since I was 16, which basically means I’ve been hungry for last nine years.  Awesome.

And not only am I hungry, but I always seem to want super horrible foods at the most inconvenient times – for instance, during The Biggest Loser Finale, while perusing the latest issue of Victoria’s Secret or right before a bathing suit clad vacation.  Yet another dose of awesome. 

And no time in all my weight loss / maintenance years has ever been even remotely as this one: The I’m-Gonna-Be-in-White-Dress-in-Front-of-Millions Time.  Never – in all my life – have fudge brownies, mint chocolate chip ice cream or raw cookie dough looked more appetizing, and never – in all my life – have I been less inclined to eat them.  Because even though my Mister thinks I’m beautiful in every sense of the word  – I want this same sentiment spread to every one else sitting in the audience.

So, I’ve gathered my decade’s worth of trial and error data and come up with a few tricks that have truly helped me along.  One, stressing over it will only make it worse.  (Probably why so many women cling to Yoga.)  Two, every one is different; so, don’t expect the same routines that worked for a friend to work for you.  Three, no matter what a girl’s body type may be, she is liable to have just as many insecurities as you.  (Kind of nice to know we’re all in the same boat, isn’t it?)  And finally, of all the fad diets, crash cut backs and insane techniques you can use to lose weight, nothing will EVER work better than good ‘ole fashioned healthy eating and daily exercise.

If you’re currently taking the same journey as me and looking to trim down, shape up or simply get healthy for your big day, here are a few sites I’ve found incredibly helpful: WebMD.com and LoseWeightLossDiet.com – pretty clever name, yes?  We’re all in this together, girls!  So, get out, get going and rest assure that there’s at least one more person looking to take out her bathroom scale!

Entry filed under: All About Me, Wedding Planning 101. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Wedding Planners: Are They A Dying Breed? Love A Career Or Love A Man? I Say, “Why Not Both?”

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cheap wiki backlinks service  |  June 25, 2013 at 6:02 am

    Through seo services Singapore you will be able to add value to your website,
    increase your search engine rankings thus increasing traffic for your website.
    Updating your website frequently helps build your visitor retention, page ranking, and revenue potential.
    In fact, a systematic graphical representation is done by professional designers who have creative bent of minds.

    Reply
  • 2. Jessika Feltz  |  May 19, 2009 at 12:58 am

    I ate two fudge rounds in your honor tonight!

    Reply
    • 3. Mary Kidwell  |  May 22, 2009 at 8:40 am

      You’re a good friend for that, Jess. I dig Oreos dipped in chocolate milk. Bring.It.On.

      Reply
  • 4. Leah  |  May 18, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    You look fabulous girlie, absolute fabulous!!!! I’d like to hear some of your eating tips. The one and only thing that tends to work for me is not eating after 8pm, which is ridiculously hard. Where are you working out at?? Great seeing you Sunday!

    Reply
    • 5. Mary Kidwell  |  May 22, 2009 at 8:39 am

      Awww, thank Leah! I wear love well, don’t I? And speaking of looking fabulous… you should be the poster girl of having a baby and staying fly! Not only do you look as purty as ever, but you have that wonderful, maternal glow! Give Little Joey a big squeeze from me… love love love his sweet cheeks :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click Here 2 SAVE!

Our Pick 4 2010’s Trendiest

As Seen in Brides!

Also, featured in InStyle!

Request a FREE Catalog!

Win a $200 Shopping Spree!

MK At A Glance

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

All A*Twitter*

Share This Blog!

Bookmark and Share

Archives


