So, Darlin, Save The First Dance For Me

June 1, 2009 at 4:42 pm 3 comments


First-Dance-SongSo, let’s dish about wedding songs.  If you’re even slightly into music, narrowing down a list of your favorite tunes is a feat in itself… let alone picking the one melody that perfectly describes the love you and your man share.  I mean seriously, is it too much to ask to find a song that’s memorable, timeless, artistic, original and perfect in every sense of the word??  I mean geesh, I think not :)

My first thought:  Do we even have a song?  Hmmm.  Let me start by saying that my Mister is really (and I mean re-he-HEALLY) into music; so, since the beginning of our courtship, I have received a number of “mixed tapes” that have intermittently been exchanged in and out of my car stereo… thus, creating an original soundtrack to my daily life.  I love love love each and every one because they take me back to a specific moment in time.  Just like distinct smells have the ability to house memories, a great song has the power to evoke certain snapshots in my life… something I truly treasure!

I started going through each disk – track by track – listening and waiting… I suppose for that “aahhh haaa” moment most people expect when they’re waiting for anything, but it didn’t come.  Getting flustered, I went to a girl’s most trusted assistant, and I Google-ed any form of First Wedding Dance Songs that I could think of.  The results returned a staggering 28,800,000 Web sites.

…Wow…

Looks like I’m not the only person wondering about it, nor am I the first to write about it.  And perhaps – because the results were so vast – something about them felt a little off.  They almost seemed too great in numbers… too impersonal for us.  And the one piece of advice sooo many of my friends had given was, “Pick a song that means something to you.”  Alas, I went back to the mixed tapes.

That’s when I came across the very first CD Tanner ever made me… very originally titled, “Songs for You – 3.18.06.”  Right when I popped it in, I immediately travelled back in time.  I instantaneously had flutter-bies – the very specific, super fluttery butterflies a girl only gets at the start of something special, and all of a sudden I had 18 “memorable, timeless, artistic, original and perfect in every sense of the word” songs that 28,800,000 search results couldn’t find.  It was awesome.

I ended up choosing Holiday in Spain by the Counting Crows, and it’s funny because it really doesn’t have anything to do with true love or epic romance… but it does have EVERYTHING to do with our love and our romance.  It reminds me of holding his hand in the car during the hundreds of trips to and from Chicago to visit his family.  It reminds me of dancing in the kitchen at his old house after we’d packed up all the boxes and only the CD player was left out.  But most importantly, it reminds me of us. 

Now, I’m not naive enough to believe this is how it happens for everyone.  In fact, I’m still in shock that this is how it happened for me.  So, if you’re a bride-to-be struggling to find your perfect song, here are a few sites that I found helpful:  50 Songs for the More Traditional Bride, 30 Songs for the Less Traditional Bride and Some Wedding Songs that fall in the middle.  And just in case you’re in need of a guilty plasure, here’s a link to Famous Celebrity Wedding Songs.  Enjoy and happy planning!

Entry filed under: All About Me, Wedding Planning 101. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Even The Darkest Clouds Can Have A Super Bright, Silver Lining Oh Groomeo, Groomeo, Wherefore Art Thou Groomeo?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lemondrop  |  June 3, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    My wedding song was “All The Way” by Celine Dion with Frank Sinatra. I wanted to feel all grown up on my wedding day so I thought incorporating a little Frank into the day was the perfect way to do that. It actually turned out to be pretty cool… and since the song is a duet we took turns singing to each other throughout the dance (reminiscing sigh).

    Reply
  • 2. Jessika Feltz  |  June 2, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    Awwww! Cute!!

    Ours was “You and Me” by Lifehouse!!! If High School Musical had been around then, I soooo would have had it be “Can I have this dance?” from HSM3.

    Reply
    • 3. Mary Kidwell  |  June 4, 2009 at 9:26 am

      Haha! Talk about polar opposites :) Lemondrop was hoping to be grown up and Jessika now wishes she could’ve done a High School Musical number… brilliant.

      See, brides, you can do whatever you want :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click Here 2 SAVE!

Our Pick 4 2010’s Trendiest

As Seen in Brides!

Also, featured in InStyle!

Request a FREE Catalog!

Win a $200 Shopping Spree!

MK At A Glance

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

All A*Twitter*

Share This Blog!

Bookmark and Share

Archives


