When It Comes To Your Wedding, Are You A Bride Who Is Sure, Sure, Sure Or Un(in)Sured?

June 5, 2009 at 2:04 pm 2 comments


Wedding InsuranceLike most brides, I have visited just under a bazillion Web sites, searching for everything from checklists and timelines to due dates and must haves.  I suppose you could say I’m working under the notion: the key to bridal jubilation is structured preparation… and yes, I totally just made that up.

In order to keep myself from stressing, I constantly keep two things in mind.  1)  No matter how much I plan, prepare, take caution, map out or set up for the big day, something is bound to go wrong.  2)  I will prepare for it anyway.  Hence, why I’ve found an obsessive compulsive need to quadruple check a bazillion sites to make sure I’m not missing anything.

While perusing all these sites, I kept running into something that – at first glance – I blew past.  I kept seeing things like, “Consider insuring your wedding” or “Be sure to purchase Wedding Insurance.”  Just skimming through, I simply lumped it in with insuring the engagement and wedding rings, but apparently, this is not the case.

In fact, there are a number of companies (and vendors) that offer wedding insurance.  This particular type of insurance protects a couple (and their well earned, recently spent moolah) from circumstances beyond their control and reimburses them accordingly.  Everything from the coordinated venues and wedding gowns to unexpected military leaves and weather can be taken under consideration.

Of course my immediate inner monologue thought, “Grrrrrrrrrreaaat.  Now I have to spend money on everything I just spent money on. Can I get an AWESOME up in here or what?!?”  But, as I read on, I started to calm the screaming voice inside my head and began to feel more at ease.

Before gallivanting down a path of insane wedding insurance purchasing, there are many things to consider.  Most wedding vendors probably already have their own insurance policies.  Be sure check with any caterers, driving services, reception venues, ceremony sites, etc. to see what kind of policies they offer or already have covered.  That way, you can avoid “double booking” anything that is already taken care of. 

Also, understand that not everything can be covered.  Insurance companies can’t be held accountable for your actions.  For example, there will be no compensation if cold feet become a factor.  That – of course – would be at the discretion of each individual.

For this and more tips like it, feel free to check out: TheKnot.com or WedSafe.com.  And please feel free to offer any information you have on Wedding Insurance!  I’m sure all our brides-to-be would love to hear how well (or not so well) it worked for you!

Entry filed under: The Inside Track, Wedding Planning 101. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Oh Groomeo, Groomeo, Wherefore Art Thou Groomeo? Wedding Reception Centerpieces 101

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessika Feltz  |  June 8, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    I don’t have any experience with wedding insurance, but I have purchased travel insurance. I would recommend it if you plan on honeymooning anywhere that could even POSSIBLY have a hurricane. Also, it covers your rental car, helps you recover baggage, etc. I used a website called InsureMyTrip.com and it was pretty reasonable. It’s not fun to think about falling and breaking your leg while on your honeymoon, but it happens!

    Reply
    • 2. Mary Kidwell  |  June 8, 2009 at 3:33 pm

      That’s a super great point from a super great girl!

      This makes me doubly believe that if you’re doing a destination wedding, you should REALLY invest in some extra insurance :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click Here 2 SAVE!

Our Pick 4 2010’s Trendiest

As Seen in Brides!

Also, featured in InStyle!

Request a FREE Catalog!

Win a $200 Shopping Spree!

MK At A Glance

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

All A*Twitter*

Share This Blog!

Bookmark and Share

Archives


