Daddy’s Little Girl Is All Grown Up & Getting Married

June 19, 2009 at 1:05 pm 4 comments


Me and my dad at my Aunt Anna's wedding.

Me and my dad at Aunt Anna's wedding - June 6, 1987

Any man can be a father, but it takes someone special to be a dad. ~Anne Geddes

There’s a special bond between fathers and daughters that is unlike any other.  A father is the first man a girl ever loves.  He’s the strong shoulder she leans on and the warm heart she trusts.  He’s her ride to dance class and the toughest coach she’ll ever have.  He’s her biggest fan and most loyal supporter.  He’s the replacement hair dresser when Mom’s gone and the grill master for all backyard barbeques.  He’s a protector, provider, medicine giver, piggy back transporter and teacher… and while he’s the first man to ever own his daughter’s heart, he’s also the one expected to give it away. 

Which is why, when I think of my wedding day, there’s only one part that I’m utterly terrified to do…

Walk down the aisle with him.  Like so many other girls all over the world, my father is Superman.  He has done more for me and my family than could ever be expected.  He worked long hours and still managed to make it to all my games.  He was always my first phone call whenever I was in trouble.  Even in my horrifying Junior High years – don’t act like you don’t remember what you were like at 13 – he never stopped making me feel like it was a privilege to be my dad.  He was (and still is) constantly doing without in order to provide more than we need.

He’s the most dependable, loyal, hard working and generous person I’ve ever had the honor to know.  My grandmother once told me that he was the strongest of her children… hard headed and stubborn… but strong.  That has always stuck with me, and I know they say you can’t pick your family, but even if you could, I wouldn’t change him in for anyone else.  I’m hoping, as I age, that I will reflect more than just my father’s Charlie Brown cheeks…. because to be completely honest, we could all be a little more like Bill :)

Happy Father’s Day, Papa!  I love love love you!  And no matter what, you’ll always be Superman.

And for all you bride’s out there looking for the perfect Father/Daughter dance song, here are some of today’s most popular choices:

  1. I Loved Her First – Heartland
  2. My Little Girl – Tim McGraw
  3. What a Wonderful World – Louis Armstrong
  4. Butterfly Kisses – Bob Carlisle
  5. My Girl – Temptations
  6. The Way You Look Tonight – Frank Sinatra
  7. Unfogettable – Natalie and Nat King Cole
  8. Because You Loved Me – Celine Dion
  9. Daughters – John Mayer
  10. Have I Told You Lately – Rod Stewart
Entry filed under: All About Me, Keeping it Personal. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Gray Is *Gold* For Today’s Wedding Planning A Color Coordinated Bridal Shower Creates Picture Perfect Memories

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenn  |  June 4, 2010 at 10:29 am

    New and upcoming song is “slipping Through My Fingers” by ABBA, but the Mamma Mia version

    Reply
  • 2. Erin  |  October 13, 2009 at 6:22 am

    Im dancing with m y Dad to “A Dream is a wish your heart makes” -by; Linda Ronstadt The Cinderella song, my dad always made me feel like Cinderella!

    Reply
  • 3. Mara (Wedding Cabaret)  |  June 21, 2009 at 8:48 am

    great songs!!

    Reply
    • 4. Mary Kidwell  |  June 22, 2009 at 1:07 pm

      Thanks, Mara! It’s crazy how hard it is to pick one :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click Here 2 SAVE!

Our Pick 4 2010’s Trendiest

As Seen in Brides!

Also, featured in InStyle!

Request a FREE Catalog!

Win a $200 Shopping Spree!

MK At A Glance

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

All A*Twitter*

Share This Blog!

Bookmark and Share

Archives


