Get Footloose & Fancy Free: It’s Time To Rock The… Ceremony??

July 24, 2009 at 10:04 am 8 comments


Talk about taking it to the next level: this morning, on The Today Show, Matt Lauer and Meredith Vieira featured a couple who completely rocked it out on their wedding day.  Unimpressed?  Well, what if I told you all the “rockin’ out” took place while walking down the aisle? 

You heard me correct, kids.  Jill and Kevin Kheinz, along with their entire bridal party, two stepped, sashayed, aswirly twirlied, etc. all the way to the altar.  Typically a time for Cannon in D, Ode to Joy and held back tears, the beginning of most wedding ceremonies leans more towards solemn solace, not funky freshness.  This couple, however, said “Pppppffffffttt” to that and “Heck Yes!” to cuttin’ a rug – or, in this case, cuttin’ a runner.

And while I’m sure great grandmothers and old school religious leaders everywhere may be falling out of their chairs in shock, I can’t help but stand up from mine and break it down – Mary K style – right along with them! 

On behalf of Marilyn’s Keepsakes and groove thang shakers everywhere, we offer a big congrats to Kevin and Jill… for getting married… having fun… and being completely, totally and originally awesome!  Cheers to your nuptials… you crazy kids, you :)

What about all you other brides and grooms to be??  Would you ever bust loose during your ceremony?

Entry filed under: Trends VS. Traditions, Uncategorized, Wedding Etiquette. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Dance Your Newlywed Night Away With Personalized Passion Make Your Guests *Green* With Envy: Give Eco-Friendly Wedding Favors

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura  |  July 27, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Haha, I don’t think I’d ever bust loose down the aisle. I am more of a traditional wedding goer. However, my friend whom is getting married in a few months, would probably rock it down the aisle. She is everything but traditional! She wanted to rock it down the aisle on graduation. I was obviously against it because I thought it looked silly. Speaking about non-traditional, my friend has been looking for a Chicago Wedding Band to play at her Indiana wedding. She loves the city and is looking at all sorts of bands to bring to the state to play at her reception. It might be more expensive to bring a band to another state than to find one that is already there, but its her wedding, and she’ll do it however she wants!

    Reply
  • 2. Jessika Feltz  |  July 24, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    When I saw this video yesterday it somehow managed to still make me cry!!

    Reply
  • 3. Mary Kidwell  |  July 24, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Haha! I do love to “move it! move it!” That’s fer sure :)

    Reply
  • 4. Cortney  |  July 24, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    Hi Mary,
    I just saw that video at work and I was just getting ready to forward it too you. That’s hysterical I could so see this being part of your entrance.

    Reply
  • 5. AndiRoBaker  |  July 24, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    That is hilarious !! It is def something that Nuts would do !:)

    Reply
  • 6. MrsOldham  |  July 24, 2009 at 10:47 am

    You and Tanner would totallly do somethign like this!

    Reply
  • 7. eventweddinggirl  |  July 24, 2009 at 10:20 am

    I saw this this morning, and absolutely love the idea. What a great way to begin your marriage. After all this is a day that is supposed to be about you as a couple, and this couple obviously loves to dance, loves to have fun, and what a better way to begin their life together than to start off with a “bang”.

    I wish I had the cleaver idea. I hear that they will have the whole wedding party on at a later date to actually do it all over again :)

    I am so excited to view this!

    Reply
    • 8. Mary Kidwell  |  July 24, 2009 at 10:54 am

      I know, right??? There is nothing I would love more than to be “the first” at something. I’ll have to put my creative juices on overtime overload for the next four months (until my big day) and come up with something! Thanks for poppin’ in and droppin a line!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click Here 2 SAVE!

Our Pick 4 2010’s Trendiest

As Seen in Brides!

Also, featured in InStyle!

Request a FREE Catalog!

Win a $200 Shopping Spree!

MK At A Glance

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

All A*Twitter*

Share This Blog!

Bookmark and Share

Archives


