Renew Your Vows, Relive Your Love & Always Always Always Stay… Forever Young

July 31, 2009 at 12:38 pm 3 comments


Still Young + In Love after 60 Years!

Still Young + In Love after 60 Years!

Love is a temporary madness.  It erupts like an earthquake and then subsides.  And when it subsides, you have to make a decision.  You have to work out whether your roots have become so entwined together that it is inconceivable that you should ever part.  Because THIS is what LOVE IS.  Love is not breathlessness; it is not excitement; it is not the promulgation of eternal passion.  That is just being “in love” which any of us can convince ourselves we are.

Love itself is what is left over when being “in love” has burned away, and this is both an art and a fortunate accident.  Your mother and I had it.  We had roots that grew towards each other underground, and when all the pretty blossoms had fallen from our branches… we found that we were ONE tree, not two. – Captain Corelli’s Mandolin

When people ask what excites me the most about my upcoming nuptials, my answer is simply this… “Sunday morning.”  After hearing my response, it’s always fun to watch all their different reactions.  The most frequent and obvious one is confusion.  Some people simply don’t get it.  Some will inevitably make inappropriate jokes or references; while others require immediate clarification. 

Cutting their "Wedding Cake"

Cutting their "Wedding Cake"

And yet, there are still a select few who get it right away.  They know that what I’m looking forward to isn’t necessarily all the glam and magic that surrounds a wedding day.  While it will also be incredibly fabulous, they know I’m most excited about all the days that will follow.  They understand the excitement of being married, not just getting married.  They share in the joy or being a wife (or husband) and signing “Mrs.” on birthday cards and grocery store receipts.  They know that toasting to the “happiest day of your life” is silly… because every day after has potential to be even better.

Two of these people – who get it more than most – are my beautiful grandparents, Tom and Dottie Kennedy.  This month, they celebrated their 60th wedding anniversary.  That’s right, people, SIXTY years of loving, laughing, living and crying.  Sixty years of sweet victories, bitter defeats and beautiful moments.  They’ve shared more together than some people will ever get the chance to see on their own, and even when things got hard, they recognized how much harder it’d be if they weren’t holding hands through it.

Many years ago, I asked my grandpa how he and my grandma have been able to set such an example.  To which he so easily replied, “Keep your love young, no matter how old you get.  She (my grandma) will always be my sweetheart.”  That has always stayed with me.

So, we decided to help keep their love young, and threw a party modeled after their wedding reception.  It had it all: a buffet styled feast, cake cutting ceremony – fit with their very own monogram cake topper, flowers, boutonnieres and presents galore!  It was amazing, and even though the celebration was for them, I couldn’t help but cheer a little for myself, rooting that my Mister and I could be so lucky!  Thanks, Gramma and Pop for setting such an amazing example and cheers to the next 60 years!

And to all my readers out there, please share any anniversary stories, advice or funny memories below.  I would love love love nothing more than learning from you!  Also, feel free to check out our full line of Wedding Anniversary Accessories and make every year together an even more startling celebration!

Entry filed under: All About Me, Keeping it Personal. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Wedding History 101: Uncover The Truth Behind Bouquet Flings & Garter Tosses Minding Your “P’s and Q’s”: How To Properly Word Wedding Invitations, According To The Host

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sis  |  August 4, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    You & I have talked so much about the day after the wedding. I have told you this many times….IT IS FABULOUS!!!!!!!! I love that I have desire to go back to the “single” days or before I met him. That’s just something that I do not want to ever relive. People around my birthday always say, “Oh don’t you want to be 21 again?” I’m like heck no. I loved 25. It was when I became who I am today. Mary—you are truly a blessing to everyone & especially Tanner. You will be the best Mrs Dietz there is. LOVE YOU!!!

    Reply
  • 2. MJ  |  August 4, 2009 at 9:56 am

    Tom and Dot are truly the goal! Wish you the best in achieving this!

    Reply
  • 3. MrsMcCourtie  |  August 4, 2009 at 9:55 am

    love this! hope Todd (my husband) and I can do the same thing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click Here 2 SAVE!

Our Pick 4 2010’s Trendiest

As Seen in Brides!

Also, featured in InStyle!

Request a FREE Catalog!

Win a $200 Shopping Spree!

MK At A Glance

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

All A*Twitter*

Share This Blog!

Bookmark and Share

Archives


