Putting the “BOO” in FaBOOlous: Happy Halloween Themed Weddings

October 16, 2009 at 2:40 pm 7 comments


Halloween-Bride-and-Groom

Christina Aguilera + Her Halloween Hubby

While I was out on Wednesday for a marketing conference, I ran into an old friend – don’t you just love that?  And pretty Ms. Nancy reported that she recently received a wedding invitation from an old, mutual friend of ours.  Remembering the girl and how I admired her ability to march to the beat of her own drum, I was not in the least bit surprised that she was having a Happy Halloweener Wedding, complete with the instruction for guests to come in costume! 

That’s right, her wedding wants to put everyone in the holiday spirit, and can I just say that I love love love it!!!  I love hearing about different ideas and ways brides and grooms choose to showcase their love.  Moreover, I’m stewing in my own misery for not keeping better contact with her – ‘cause you KNOW I would be decked to the nines for this bad boy!   Hehe! 

This was actually the same path my cousin Kelly wanted to take three years ago while planning her wedding.  She has always had a severe crush on all things Halloween and delighted in the idea of surrounding her wedding with all things black and orange.  She even toiled (pun intended) with the idea of costume/cross dressing as the groom and having Matt (the actual groom) wear the dress… haha, ohhhh Kelly.

Knowing Kelly very well, my Aunt and cousin decided it would be best not to say anything at all.  For they knew, any objection or slight hesitation in their voices would only cause her to be more motivated, and after a couple days, the inspiration subsided.  And while Kelly opted to have a very traditional wedding, it is by no means out of the reach of other brides to take a wedding theme over the top!  

Go ahead and Google it… you just may be surprised all the things you can find.  I literally saw everything from subtle hints of Halloween through candy bars, color accents and dim lit settings to the outrageously BOO-filled celebrations complete with the Bride of Frankenstein, black winged bridesmaids and graveyard ceremony settings. (Yeah, the last one creeped me out a little too.)  

It almost makes me sad to know that I would never have courage to do something like this – as I’ve been dead set on being a “timeless” bride.  I will, however, always take my hat off and applaud all the brave brides-to-be who dare to be different!  Go ahead with your bad (and in this case, trick-or-treaty) selves! 

Halloween-Themed-Wedding-Ideas

Entry filed under: Trends VS. Traditions. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Are Wedding Bells Chiming for Hollywood’s Golden Child? Today’s Inspiration: Be an Example of Love to Others

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TheHalloweenLuvinCuzn  |  October 23, 2009 at 6:37 am

    why did I not know you were such a good writer!? Especially when you write about me!

    Reply
    • 2. Mary Kidwell  |  October 23, 2009 at 7:12 am

      You have gotta love Kell!

      Reply
    • 3. Kat  |  October 23, 2009 at 2:36 pm

      Kelly you should have went for the Halloween wedding, you have always walked to your own beat. I did however love the beach feel of you reception. Not too many things I would have changed at my wedding just the color of the brides made dresses and that you would have been in the country!

      Reply
  • 4. Emily Heizer  |  October 18, 2009 at 8:22 am

    That pumpkin cake is totally awesome! SO cute. So sad though, you missed that hideous Shrek themed wedding, where they LITERALLY govered themselves in green paint and adorned costumes. Fascinating what enthrallment in a kids movie can drive you to do! LOL

    Reply
    • 5. Mary Kidwell  |  October 19, 2009 at 7:28 am

      Oh what??? You mean this Shrek themed wedding?? Haha, I actually did run across these photos, but felt as though it was probably worthy of its own post… do you think their first dance was to the Counting Crows, “Accidentally in Love?”

      Reply
  • 6. lemondrop  |  October 16, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    Check out these Halloween wedding treats… What bride wouldn’t wanna look like this on her wedding day?

    Reply
    • 7. Mary Kidwell  |  October 19, 2009 at 7:32 am

      Hahaha! I was losing it when I saw these! I just CAN’T imagine wanting to look like I was dead on my wedding day. Seems like a rather ironic juxtaposition :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click Here 2 SAVE!

Our Pick 4 2010’s Trendiest

As Seen in Brides!

Also, featured in InStyle!

Request a FREE Catalog!

Win a $200 Shopping Spree!

MK At A Glance

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

All A*Twitter*

Share This Blog!

Bookmark and Share

Archives


