If Valentine’s Day is for Lovers… What Happens to All the Loners?

February 12, 2010 at 3:49 pm 3 comments


Photo Courtesy of Zazzle.com

I came across a post on OneWed.com featuring Jessica Alba today that I found incredibly pertinent to share with all of you.  In lieu of the looming Cupid Shuffle weekend, the recently married, movie star gave all unmarried women a mantra to relish in… if your haven’t found Mr. Right, enjoy Mr. Right Now.  Haha!

While this is The Best WEDDING Blog Ever, I think it’s important to pay homage to everyone still looking.  After all, if you don’t seek, you won’t find, and if you don’t find, it’s nearly impossible to wed.  (Well, unless you suffer from objectum-sexuality.  Then, just about anything within reach is fair game – haha!)

I’d be lying if I didn’t say I used to loathe Valentine’s Day.  In fact, during my four year stint at good ‘ole Indiana University, my roommates and I used to refer to the day as “Black (fill-in-the-day-it-fell-on-here)”… pretty much dubbing it a day for mourning.  What I learned, however, from all my years of being a depressing Denise is that sitting around whining about not having a Valentine into a cup of booze and (ironically) a pint of Ben & Jerry’s Chubby Hubby was the last place I would ever find love.

I mean, you don’t have to be a wizard to know that whiny, over-eating women aren’t considered Grade A, top choice by the male population.  Sitting around feeling sorry for myself, never did me (or my stomach) any favors, which is why I implore all of you – single, dating, married or otherwise – to go out an enjoy Valentine’s Day.  Whether you do something with the one you love the most or simply a bunch of people you love to be around, get out there and celebrate!  How??  You might ask…

Well, for those of you with a loving man at home, I suggest you give him a good squeeze this Valentine’s Day and remind him how nice it is to come home to him every night… but more importantly, for those of you still looking… don’t stay in this weekend and plot a way to steal Cupid’s arrows and shoot him down.  Instead, might I recommend you go out and live it up.  Gather some girls, and get’r’done!  You deserve it; they need it, and let’s be honest, you just might find a man you’d be proud to bring home to Mama… or in Ms. Alba’s case, at least one who’ll do for the night ;)

Entry filed under: All About Me. Tags: , , , , , .

Top 10 Ways 2 Save: The Wedding Edition A ‘Castle’ Wedding for a Budgeting Bride

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. WeddingGirl74  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    Hey, I met my Valentine on eHarmony.com… although I didn’t get him for free. I paid the monthly fee for a couple of months until I met him. Word to the wise… signing up for free doesn’t allow your matches to see your picture AND not having a pic is the kiss of death… its the fast track to having Mr. Right (or Mr. Right Now) delete your profile on the spot. Just a little PSA to all those soon-to-be online daters out there.

    And it just figures the year I actually have a Valentine, he’s working out of town this weekend so our V-day date will be over Skype. Better than nothing, but I really wanted Valentine’s Day at White Castle :)

    Reply
    • 2. Mary Kidwell  |  February 14, 2010 at 11:17 pm

      Love love love this advice! And I love love love that you found happiness from online dating! While the Mister and I met what feels like centuries ago in junior high at a high school football game… It wasn’t until he saw me again on Facebook nearly EIGHT years later that we began our “Road to the Alter” courtship :)

      You gotta love modern technology bringing peeps togeths!

      Reply
  • 3. NatC  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    or in a case where you have no single friends here is another idea…www.eharmony.com you can talk free this weekend! So like Mary said put down the ice cream and get out there and find your Valentine!!!

    Luckily, in my case I have to work this weekend so to me it’s just another day + my birthday is coming up so I usually just celebrate the entire week! LOL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click Here 2 SAVE!

Our Pick 4 2010’s Trendiest

As Seen in Brides!

Also, featured in InStyle!

Request a FREE Catalog!

Win a $200 Shopping Spree!

MK At A Glance

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

All A*Twitter*

Share This Blog!

Bookmark and Share

Archives


