Thank You Very Much (Oh!) Marriage Roboto! (Domo… Domo!)

May 19, 2010 at 12:46 pm 1 comment


photo courtesy of scottakio.com

While I may be remixing the famed Styx lyrics, I would like to justify it first by saying they’re the perfect prologue to today’s post.  Secondly, it’s a little known fact, but by incorporating robotic talk (& dance) into our daily lives, we enrich the lives of those around us and increase the potential for world peace… It’s true… For serious… Okay, maybe I’m making that up, but if you’ve ever been privy to my robotic pops and locks on the dance flo’, you’d totally see where I was coming from – haha! 

Bottom line (all Mary lies aside), robots are fun, which is precisely the reason why I’m assuming Tomohiro Shibata, 42, and Satoko Inouye, 36, decided to have one be a part of their newlywed debut.  But not just any part, people; we’re talking about the whole kit ‘n’ kaboodle here.  Shibata and Inouye had their robotic friend, the I-Fairy, respectfully reside as their nuptial officiant. 

Now, I know what you’re thinking, “Is that legal?”  And I’m afraid to report, I have absolutely no idea.  (Sorry!)  I do know, however, that this doting Japanese couple took it upon themselves to say “I do” in front of the I-Fairy officiant and 50 of their closest family and friends.  According to Fox News, Shibata and Inouye – married at a restaurant in Hibiya Park in central Tokyo – are the first couple EVER to get their marriage boogie on with a robot as the presiding officiant.  (Now there’s a sentence I never imagined myself saying.)  

Equipped with glowing eyes, plastic pigtails and a halo of real flowers, the I-Fairy came to life following its wire hookup to a computer behind a black curtain; all controlled by a man typing in the commands… haha, did the scene from The Wizard of Oz “Pay no attention to that man behind the curtain!” just go through anyone else’s head?… I knew it!

Anyhoot, this epic, robotic first may not be the taste topping everyone’s list, but it does reiterate the Marilyn’s Keepsake way of allowing every bride and groom the right to choose their perfect blend of trend and tradition on their big day!  So, here’s to you, Tomohiro and Satoko, and might we just say, “Domo Arigato, Mr. (& Mrs.) Roboto!  Domo… Domo!”

***Special thanks to Tonya C. for being such an avid news sleuth and providing me with this gem of wedded bliss***

Entry filed under: Trends VS. Traditions, What Were They Thinking?. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Wedding Reality Shows: Shining Light on Some Bright (& Dim) Situations Best Advice for Bridezillas on the Brink

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. WeddingGirl74  |  May 19, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    If only you could embed music to this post… I think the smooth sounds of Styx would have been the perfect musical backdrop to this read. And thanks Mary, now the tune of Mr. Robato will be in my head for the rest of the day:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click Here 2 SAVE!

Our Pick 4 2010’s Trendiest

As Seen in Brides!

Also, featured in InStyle!

Request a FREE Catalog!

Win a $200 Shopping Spree!

MK At A Glance

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

All A*Twitter*

Share This Blog!

Bookmark and Share

Archives


