Best Advice for Bridezillas on the Brink

May 21, 2010 at 11:40 am 1 comment


Fortunately for myself (and all those surrounding me), I never had a single bridezilla moment, and believe you me, this was never and I mean NEVER the expected outcome.  A bit of a perfectionist, I like to control any and all of my outcomes… right down to the very last, nitty gritty detail.  I was the girl in college who would get assigned to a group project and do the whole thing myself.  Awesome, I know.  So, you can imagine the breath holding tension my family and friends held when I got engaged… it was thick enough to cut through, kids.

Luckily for all involved, however, I actually had the stark opposite reaction to the Mister and me’s pre-meditated marriage.  Planning for our wedding day was a breeze, and I have the advice of my favorite lady in all the world to thank, my mom :)  In her infinite wisdom, my mom so delicately reminded me that I was not an expert… not on wedding cakes or dress trains, nor flower blooms or spinning records.  I may know what I like, but “knowing what you like” is not a profession; so, I should leave the doing to those who do it best.  (Ahhhh, clarity.) 

Now, I’m sure some of you are thinking, “ruuuu-huuude,” but, my little chick-a-dees, I’m afraid you’d be mistaken.  Because if there’s anything you need to know about my mom, it’s that she’s the sweetest lady evs, and like all moms, knows exactly what to say to make it aaallll better.  She wasn’t putting me down; she was simply nudging me into place.  My place – as title and luck would have it – was that of the beautiful bride, and when all I had to worry about was being beautiful – when I already look this good, haha! – the rest was absolute gravy, baby!

It’s ahhhh to the maaazing what putting trust in people can do.  Trust is the key ingredient that motivates us to succeed for others.  If you put your trust in someone, I can gosh darn guarantee you they’ll do their best to see it through to perfection – waaaaay mores o than any scream fest, knock down or drag out you could pull. 

Trust that your florist knows what they’re doing, and let them do it.  Trust that your caterer can cook like nobody’s business, and let them shine.  Trust that your butcher, your baker and candlestick maker all know what they’re doing, and let them do it too!  (Okay, so maybe you won’t have a butcher, but you get the point.)  People like pleasing people who are pleasant; so, the next time you feel a bridal rage surging, just remember that you’re not the expert, and it’s more than okay to let go of some of the power and focus on more important things… like your poses for all those portraits!  Haha!…

… oh yeah!  And that handsome dude waiting for you at the end of the aisle!  Because – at the end of the day – no matter how good, bad or ugly everything else turns out, you’ll still be his Mrs., and he’ll be your Mister :)

Entry filed under: All About Me, Wedding Etiquette. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Thank You Very Much (Oh!) Marriage Roboto! (Domo… Domo!) DIY Wedding Makeup Made Easy

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  May 24, 2010 at 8:23 am

    Great advice! It can be so difficult to put your wedding in the hands of others…but if you’re working with professionals, you have nothing to worry about!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click Here 2 SAVE!

Our Pick 4 2010’s Trendiest

As Seen in Brides!

Also, featured in InStyle!

Request a FREE Catalog!

Win a $200 Shopping Spree!

MK At A Glance

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

All A*Twitter*

Share This Blog!

Bookmark and Share

Archives


