Ladies & Gentlemen, Start Your Engines for Black & White Weddings

May 28, 2010 at 11:40 am 3 comments


Unless you’ve been living under a rock, I assume most of you are aware that Memorial Day weekend brings “the greatest spectacle in racing,” the Indianapolis 500.  Since I’m from Indy, let me just inform all you non-Nap Town dwellers that this is one, huge weekend!!!  You can’t turn the corner without running into a black and white checkered flag, a stellar pair of cut off jorts (jean shorts), a solid print mank (man tank), a beer can or a backyard BBQ… just doing our part to keep America classy :)

Haha!  While “the greatest spectacle in racing” isn’t necessarily where brides-to-be flock for fashion forward advice, I would like to toot the horn of one of it’s most symbolic details… the black and white checkered flag. 

Black and white weddings are all the rage these days, and because they create a standout look whether they’re standing alone or paired with another, more vibrant accent color, it’s easy to see why.  Of course, black and white themed wedding are popular for a number of reasons but mainly because of their versatility and timelessness.

These two “non-colors” work in any setting, any time of the year, and their contrasting neutrality creates a serious pop of punctuated charm.  Check it, chickas… get it?  “Check.”  Haha, I’m awesome:

photos courtesy of Google Images

Entry filed under: The Inside Track. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Weddings and Vikings and Mullets… Oh My! Make a Statement with Your Monogram

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. technicolorbride  |  May 29, 2010 at 7:06 am

    I LOVE THIS! :)
    Indy brides, what-what!

    This bride grew up 10 minutes from Speedway so I can’t imagine my life without the race. Recently I transplanted to Louisville so I’m going to have to allow another major sports spectacle into my heart (the Derby!) – I think I can do that :)

    Reply
    • 2. Mary Dietz  |  June 7, 2010 at 10:42 am

      Oh you can totes get behind the Derby!! I mean, hello?!?! It’s Diva Hat City! Love love love that and love love love that you brought the what-what! Haha!

      Reply
  • 3. WeddingGirl74  |  May 28, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    So funny, I grew up in Northeastern Indiana and honestly, I barely knew the Indianapolis 500 existed until I went to college near Indianapolis. This holiday weekend to most of us non-native-nap-towners is just plain Memorial Day. Although since I’ve lived in the Indy area, I have adapted to the racing culture and have grown to love race weekend.
    p.s., black and white weddings are so chic especially when you pop in a bright accent like the yellow in the pic above, or hot pink.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click Here 2 SAVE!

Our Pick 4 2010’s Trendiest

As Seen in Brides!

Also, featured in InStyle!

Request a FREE Catalog!

Win a $200 Shopping Spree!

MK At A Glance

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

All A*Twitter*

Share This Blog!

Bookmark and Share

Archives


